How Many Conjuring Movies Are There?

The Conjuring movies are some of the most popular horror films in recent years. But how many movies are in the franchise? We break it down for you.

Checkout this video:

1.The Conjuring movies

There are a total of five Conjuring movies, consisting of four main installments and one spin-off. The first movie, simply titled The Conjuring, was released in 2013 and was a huge critical and commercial success. This was followed by The Conjuring 2 in 2016, which was also very well-received.

The next two movies in the series were both spin-offs. The first was Annabelle, which was released in 2014 and focused on the titular possessed doll. The second spin-off was The Nun, which was released in 2018 and focused on the demonic nun character introduced in The Conjuring 2.

Finally, the fourth main installment in the series, The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It, is set to be released in 2021. This will no doubt please fans of the franchise who have been eagerly awaiting its return.

2.The Conjuring Universe

The Conjuring Universe is an American horror franchise and shared universe centered on a series of supernatural horror films, produced by New Line Cinema, The Safran Company, and Atomic Monster Productions, and distributed by Warner Bros. Pictures. The films present an ensemble cast including Vera Farmiga, Patrick Wilson, Ron Livingston, Lili Taylor, Joey King, Mackenzie Foy, Sterling Jerins, Clifford Joseph Harris Jr., and Frances O’Connor.

The franchise is based on the real life paranormal investigations of husband-and-wife team Ed and Lorraine Warren. The first film in the series was The Conjuring (2013), which was followed by two sequels: The Conjuring 2 (2016) and The Conjuring 3: The Devil Made Me Do It (2021). A prequel film focusing on the Warrens’ paranormal investigator Annabelle Doll was also released; Annabelle (2014), Annabelle: Creation (2017), and Annabelle Comes Home (2019).

The success of the main Conjuring films has led to the development of additional works set within the fictional “Conjuring Universe”, including spin-off titles such as The Nun (2018), The Curse of La Llorona (2019), Annabelle vs. Evil Dead (2020), and a television series titled The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.

3.The Conjuring timeline

The Conjuring timeline goes as follows: The Conjuring in 2013, Annabelle in 2014, The Conjuring 2 in 2016, and Annabelle: Creation in 2017. While it seems like there have been more Conjuring movies than that, those are the only movies that are actually part of The Conjuring Universe.

4.The Conjuring movies in order

The Conjuring movies in order are The Conjuring (2013), The Conjuring 2 (2016), The Conjuring: The Enfield Poltergeist (2016) and The Nun (2018).

5.The Conjuring characters

The Conjuring movies are a horror movie series that began in 2013. There are currently five movies in the series, with a sixth one set to be released in 2021. The Conjuring movies are based on the real-life paranormal investigations of Ed and Lorraine Warren.

6.The Conjuring cast

The Conjuring is a 2013 American supernatural horror film directed by James Wan and written by Chad Hayes and Carey W. Hayes. It is the first installment in The Conjuring Universe franchise. The film stars Vera Farmiga and Patrick Wilson as Ed and Lorraine Warren, paranormal investigators and authors associated with prominent cases of hauntings. The Warrens come to the aid of the Perron family (Ron Livingston, Lili Taylor, Joey King, Shanley Caswell, Haley McFarland, Mackenzie Foy, Kyla Deaver), who are experiencing increasingly disturbing events in their farmhouse in Rhode Island in 1971.

The Conjuring was released in the United States on July 19, 2013. Motion picture critics praised the screenplay, direction, acting performances (particularly those of Farmiga and Wilson), executive producer Peter Safran’s work on the haunted house set design and creep factor; some have called it one of the best haunted house films ever made. The Conjuring grossed over $319 million globally on a production budget of just $20 million–$28 million showcasing Wan’s skill at producing profitable low-budget horror films–and earned five Saturn Award nominations. A sequel, The Conjuring 2 (2016), was also a critical and commercial success; grossing over $320 million worldwide on a production budget of $40 million; with many critics praising Wan’s direction as well as performances by Farmiga and Wilson–calling it an improvement over its predecessor–and earning two Academy Award nominations for Best Sound Editing[6]and Best Sound MixingThe Conjuring Universe currently consists of six movies: four live action feature length movies (two mainline features, one spin-off movie based on Annabelle doll character from first movie & one prequel to first movie) & two live action short films that serve as prequels or spin-offs to mainline features (“The Crooked Man” origin story & “The Nurse”), for total of eight movies

7.The Conjuring plot

The Conjuring is a supernatural horror film franchise created by James Wan. The series is distributed by Warner Bros. and consists of seven films. The films center around the Warrens, a real-life couple who investigate paranormal activity.

The first film in the series, The Conjuring, was released in 2013. It was followed by The Conjuring 2 in 2016, The Conjuring 3: The Devil Made Me Do It in 2021, Annabelle in 2014, Annabelle: Creation in 2017, Annabelle Comes Home in 2019, and The Nun in 2018.

8.The Conjuring ending

The Conjuring ending is a bit of a cliffhanger, with the Warrens (Vera Farmiga and Patrick Wilson) continuing to investigate the case of the Perron family haunting. The credits tease that Annabelle, the demonic doll at the center of The Conjuring spin-off, is coming back, which sets up the possibility for more movies in the franchise. For now, there are eight Conjuring movies: six in The Conjuring Universe and two Annabelle spin-offs.

9.The Conjuring 2

The Conjuring 2 was released in 2016 and is the second instalment in The Conjuring series. The movie is set in 1977 and revolves around the Warrens helping a family who are experiencing paranormal activity in their home.

The Conjuring 3 is set to be released in 2020 and will focus on the case of the Enfield Poltergeist, which took place in London in 1977.

10.The Conjuring 3

The Conjuring 3 is set to release in 2020, making it the tenth film in The Conjuring Universe. The Conjuring Universe includes all of the films in which the Warrens have played a part, including The Conjuring, The Conjuring 2, Annabelle, Annabelle: Creation, Annabelle Comes Home, The Nun, The Curse of La Llorona, andThe Warren Files.

Scroll to Top