How Many Hours of Marvel Movies Are There?

How many hours of Marvel movies are there? The answer may surprise you.

Checkout this video:


Marvel Studios is an American film studio that is a subsidiary of Walt Disney Studios, which is owned by The Walt Disney Company. The studio has produced 23 films since 2008. The films are based on characters that appear in Marvel Comics publications.

The studio has been involved in three phases of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, producing the films in Phase One, Phase Two, and Phase Three. In 2012, Marvel Studios completed Phase One with the release of The Avengers, which grossed over $1.5 billion worldwide and became the third highest-grossing film of all time.

The Marvel Cinematic Universe

The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is an American media franchise and shared universe that is centered on a series of superhero films, independently produced by Marvel Studios and based on characters that appear in publications by Marvel Comics. The franchise has expanded to include comic books, short films, television series, and digital series. The shared universe, much like the original Marvel Universe in comic books, was established by crossing over common plot elements, settings, cast, and characters. Phil Coulson, Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D., is an original character to the MCU and the only character to appear across all its different media.

The first phase of the MCU saw the release of Iron Man (2008), The Incredible Hulk (2008), Iron Man 2 (2010), Thor (2011), Captain America: The First Avenger (2011), and The Avengers (2012). Phase Two released Ant-Man (2015) while Phase Three released Captain America: Civil War (2016). upcoming films in this phase include Doctor Strange (2016), Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017), Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017), Thor: Ragnarok(2017), Black Panther(2018), Avengers: Infinity War Part 1(2018) and Part 2(2019). There are also three untitled films set to be released on May 1, July 10 and November 6 in 2020. As of June 2016, 23 films have been released in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. With a combined gross revenue of over $10 billion at the global box office, it is the highest-grossing film franchise of all time.

The Avengers

The Avengers is a group of superheroes who appear in comic books published by Marvel Comics. The team made its debut in The Avengers #1 (Sept. 1963), created by writer-editor Stan Lee and artist/co-plotter Jack Kirby. The original lineup included Ant-Man, the Hulk, Iron Man, Thor and the Wasp; subseqent members have included Captain America, Hawkeye, Scarlet Witch, Vision, Falcon and Black Panther.

The Avengers are Earth’s mightiest heroes, formed to fight the foes no single superhero can withstand. The team is led by Captain America, and its members also include Iron Man, Thor, the Hulk, Black Widow, Hawkeye, Falcon and Scarlet Witch. When global threats arise that even the mightiest heroes cannot overcome alone, the Avengers come together to save the world from catastrophe.

Iron Man

Iron Man was the first movie of the Marvel Cinematic Universe and was released in 2008. The movie is set after Tony Stark, a billionaire industrialist and genius engineer, is kidnapped and forced to build a weapon of mass destruction. He instead creates a powered suit of armor to save his life and escape captivity. Upon returning home, he decides to use his technology to fight crime and protect the world as Iron Man. The sequel, Iron Man 2, was released in 2010 and continues Tony Stark’s story as he faces new challenges, both personal and professional. Iron Man 3 was released in 2013 and is considered one of the best movies in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. It concludes Tony Stark’s arc as he battles an enemy from his past who wants to destroy him.


As of Thor: Ragnarok, there are 17 hours and 2 minutes of Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) movies.

Captain America

Captain America is a superhero movie based on the Marvel Comics character of the same name. The film is set in World War II, and follows Steve Rogers, who is transformed into a super-soldier and must stop the Red Skull from using an energy source called the Tesseract to destroy the world. The movie was released on July 22, 2011, and grossed over $370 million worldwide.

The Guardians of the Galaxy

The Guardians of the Galaxy is a 2014 American superhero film based on the Marvel Comics superhero team of the same name, produced by Marvel Studios and distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures. It is the tenth film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). The film was directed by James Gunn, who wrote the screenplay with Nicole Perlman, and features an ensemble cast including Chris Pratt, Zoe Saldana, Dave Bautista, Vin Diesel, Bradley Cooper, Lee Pace, Michael Rooker, Karen Gillan, Djimon Hounsou, John C. Reilly, Glenn Close, and Benicio del Toro. In the film, the team attempts to stop Ronan the Accuser from using the Infinity Stone he possesses to destroy the planet Xandar.

Marvel Studios began developing a Guardians of the Galaxy film in 2008 after acquiring the comic property rights that same year from Marvel Entertainment for $4 million. Gunn was hired to write and direct in 2012. In April 2013, production began in London before moving to Italy and then back to London. Principal photography concluded in October 2013 after shooting for 82 days.

The Guardians of the Galaxy was released theatrically in North America on August 1, 2014. The film grossed $773 million worldwide against a $170 million budget and became one of two highest-grossing films of 2014 globally. Reviews were largely positive for its humor and ensemble cast; some criticism was aimed at its plotline being uneven but not bad enough to interfere with enjoyment.”

Doctor Strange

Doctor Strange is a 2016 American superhero film based on the Marvel Comics character of the same name, produced by Marvel Studios and distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures. It is the fourteenth film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). The film was directed by Scott Derrickson, who wrote it with Jon Spaihts and C. Robert Cargill, and stars Benedict Cumberbatch as Stephen Strange, a former neurosurgeon who discovers the mystical arts after a car accident. Rachel McAdams, Benedict Wong, Mads Mikkelsen, Tilda Swinton, Chiwetel Ejiofor, and Benjamin Bratt appear in supporting roles.


Marvel Studios, LLC is an American film and television studio that is a subsidiary of The Walt Disney Studios, a division of The Walt Disney Company. The studio is best known for its superhero films based on characters byMarvel Comics, particularly those in the Avengers franchise.

Marvel Studios have released 23 movies since 2008—(9 in Phase One, 3 in Phase Two, and 11 in Phase Three)—withSpider-Man: Far From Home (2019) serving as the conclusion to Phase Three.


In conclusion, there are a total of 54 hours and 20 minutes of Marvel movies.

Scroll to Top