How Many Marvel Movies Are There in 2021?

We break down the upcoming Marvel Cinematic Universe slate to see how many Marvel movies are slated for release in 2021.

Checkout this video:

How many Marvel movies are there in 2021?

As of February 2021, there are a total of 12 Marvel movies scheduled for release in 2021. These include “The Falcon and the Winter Soldier,” “Black Widow,” “Loki,” “Spider-Man: No Way Home,” “Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness,” “Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings,” “What If…?,” “Eternals,” “Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse 2,” “Thor: Love and Thunder,” “Ant-Man and The Wasp: Quantumania,” and “Captain Marvel 2.”

The Marvel Cinematic Universe

As of February 2021, there have been 23 movies released in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). This does not include movies that are in development or have been announced.

The first MCU movie was Iron Man, which was released in 2008. The most recent MCU movie is Black Panther, which was released in 2018. There are several MCU movies scheduled for release in 2021, including Captain Marvel 2, Spider-Man: No Way Home, and Thor: Love and Thunder.

The Avengers

As of June 2021, there are 24 Marvel Cinematic Universe movies. The first Avengers movie, which ties together several of the other films in the universe, was released in 2012.


In 2021, there are four Spider-Man movies slated for release.

Doctor Strange

Doctor Strange is a 2016 American superhero film based on the Marvel Comics character of the same name, produced by Marvel Studios and distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures. It is the fourteenth film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). The film was directed by Scott Derrickson from a screenplay by Jon Spaihts and C. Robert Cargill, and stars Benedict Cumberbatch as Stephen Strange, a former neurosurgeon who discovers the mystic arts after a car accident.

The cast also includes Rachel McAdams, Benedict Wong, Mads Mikkelsen, Tilda Swinton, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Benjamin Bratt and Scott Adkins. In Doctor Strange, Strange learns from “The Ancient One” (played by Swinton) after he suffers severe nerve damage in a car accident that prevents him from using his hands for surgery. With her help, he becomes “the Sorcerer Supreme”—the primary protector of Earth against magical and mystical threats—and takes on Eldritch Abominations known as Dormammu and Baron Mordo (played by Mikkelsen and Ejiofor respectively).

Derrickson cited Ralph Bakshi’s 1978 animated film The Lord of the Rings as an influence on Doctor Strange; Bakshi’s film had similarly psychedelic visuals. filming began in November 2015 in Nepal before moving to Long Island, New York City and finally England; production concluded in New York City in April 2016. Cumberbatch was chosen for the role of Stephen Strange because Derrickson felt he could evoke both Trank’s vision for the character while also bringing his own qualities to the role.

Guardians of the Galaxy

Here is a list of all the Marvel movies that are scheduled to be released in 2021.
-Black Widow
-The Eternals
-Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
-Spider-Man: No Way Home


At present, the MCU is made up of 23 movies

To date, there have been 23 Marvel Cinematic Universe movies released: Iron Man (2008), The Incredible Hulk (2008), Iron Man 2 (2010), Thor (2011), Captain America: The First Avenger (2011), The Avengers (2012), Iron Man 3 (2013), Thor: The Dark World (2013), Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014), Guardians of the Galaxy (2014), Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015), Ant-Man (2015), Captain America: Civil War (2016), Doctor Strange (2016), Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017), Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017), Thor: Ragnarok (2017), Black Panther (2018), Avengers: Infinity War (2018), Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018), Captain Marvel(2019, Spider-Man: Far From Home(2019) and Black Widow(2021).

Black Panther

As of January 2021, there are 23 Marvel movies that have been released.

Captain America

There are a total of nine Marvel movies scheduled to be released in 2021. These are “Black Widow,” “Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings,” “Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness,” “Spider-Man: No Way Home,” “Thor: Love and Thunder,” “Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania,” “Captain Marvel 2,” “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3” and “Deadpool 3.”


As of February 2021, there are a total of 26 Marvel movies that have been released. This includes the Thor movie, which was released in 2011.

Scroll to Top